Recurring tasks

Bereal151

Registered
I am a low tech person that prefers pen and pad for managing my tasks. My challenge is managing recurring tasks and/or events. I find myself having to remember them which means instead of having a system that holds them. What’s the solution?

clango

Registered
I think it's the point where we all started here!
Welcome ! :)
Did you already read the Gettings Thing Done book?
What if you could organize this tasks and events with paper?

Bereal151

Registered
I think it's the point where we all started here!
Welcome ! :)
Did you already read the Gettings Thing Done book?
What if you could organize this tasks and events with paper?
Yes, I read the book and like the concept. I trust paper more than going the digital route but not sure what system I can use to reliably store recurring tasks.

Tom_Hagen

Registered
If task occurence is on specific date(s) write it down on your calendar. If not - write it down either as a member of checklist or on next action list. After completing task you can check it off (for good feelings :) ) and write it down again.

Cpu_Modern

Registered
The pen and paper solution for recurring tasks is to put them in the tickler file.

Have one note for each task and "tickle" them as you see fit.

Now, a few details have to be considered here.

(Aside from tickler file construction, there are several ways to obtain one besides of just buying a classical one in a store.)
https://www.home-storage-solutions-101.com/tickler-file.html
https://lifehacker.com/5321688/save-space-by-using-a-3-ring-binder-as-a-tickler-file
https://www.theunlikelyhomeschool.com/2014/01/diy-tickler-file-organization-for-rest.html
https://www.wikihow.com/Create-a-Tickler-File

First, what is with tasks that you want to do several times per day? A good way to handle them is to have checkboxes on that note, in fact, you can print out a whole table with tick-boxes…