Projects Question

Jimbobal

Registered
i need a bit of advice as to how to deal with my work projects. I’m a surveyor and I deal with upto 20 construction projects at a time some of which take 4 years to complete.

Are each of these a project? The reason I ask is because they obviously have a desired outcome (completion) but they are such long range they would stay on my list for many years.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

James

David Parker

GTD Connect
A Project in the GTD approach is something you can complete in the next 12 months.

Anything longer than that is a one to two+ year goal, objective, or vision (horizon 3 or 4 on the Horizons of Focus map). But are you completely responsible for each of these construction projects, or do you play a part (large or small). If your part is smaller, then they may be Areas of Focus.

mcogilvie

Registered
i need a bit of advice as to how to deal with my work projects. I’m a surveyor and I deal with upto 20 construction projects at a time some of which take 4 years to complete.

Are each of these a project? The reason I ask is because they obviously have a desired outcome (completion) but they are such long range they would stay on my list for many years.

James

It depends on how you interact with the construction projects, and what you find useful. Is your involvement clear throughout construction, so that you know there will be a next action at some future time, known or unknown? Or are you called in on an ad how basis to resolve some issue? I have some ongoing responsibilities that could each be their own area of focus. I choose instead to think of each year as having separate projects, partly because I do not want to give them the importance of an area of focus.

Jimbobal

Registered
Well it’s tricky as a manager a lot of the stuff is delegated but I need to know what is happening. Some projects can be as little as 6 months and others can go on for 4 years.