Having completed a "next action", then what?

PatrickRe

Registered
Hi there,
I'm currently implementing GTD in my life. There is still one bigger question left for a best practice for which I haven't found an answer in the book:

Let's say I have a project that will likely need 10+ separate actions to complete. In the beginning I put the project in the project list and define the next physical action that I put on a corresponding next action list.

After having completed this action I delete it from the next actions list and then what? Do I immediately define a next action for this project and put it on the corresponding next action list? Or will I define a new, next action the next time I review my project list (e.g. weekly review)?

I know that I can do it however I like but in the beginning I'd like to stick to the best practice and later adjust it to my needs when I've had some experience.

Thanks,
Patrick

Gardener

Registered
I believe that the best practice is to add another Next Action, and the Weekly Review (among all the other things it does) catches the projects for which you forgot to do that.

But I could ever so easily be wrong.

TesTeq

Registered
Hi there,
I'm currently implementing GTD in my life. There is still one bigger question left for a best practice for which I haven't found an answer in the book:

Let's say I have a project that will likely need 10+ separate actions to complete. In the beginning I put the project in the project list and define the next physical action that I put on a corresponding next action list.

After having completed this action I delete it from the next actions list and then what? Do I immediately define a next action for this project and put it on the corresponding next action list? Or will I define a new, next action the next time I review my project list (e.g. weekly review)?