Tips for contexts lists in a highly digital company

Ben S

Registered
Hi everyone,

I'm running into an issue organizing my system and I'm curious if anyone else has faced this type of problem and has some advice. I work at a major tech company in silicon valley, and all of our infrastructure is 100% digital (for context, I've never been handed a piece of paper, and have never seen anyone use the printers). I'm a software engineer, so all of my work is on the computer anyway, and a lot of my hobbies are computer based as well. Because of this I've had a really hard time coming up with contexts for organizing my next actions lists. So far what I've come up with is

• Online-corp
    • tasks that must be completed when on the company's private corporate network (note, I can connect to it via a VPN from my work laptop, so this isnt equivalent to "at office")
    • anything that doesnt require the corp network; typically I end up putting things on here that can be done on my phone, since my computer can access the corp network
  • home
  • errands
  • agendas
The problem is that these lists become absolutely huge, and I feel very intimidated when I look at them. Also, I ended up really focusing hard on clearing out Online-corp, and Online kept getting bigger. Really when I'm at my computer I'm in both of these contexts so I really should have been considering Online as well, but Online-corp took most of my attention.

I've also tried partitioning these lists by the type of work involved, so for example I added research and emails as sub-contexts of Online, but then it became hard to decide what context I'm in; for example, I personally don't particularly like researching things, so that list kept getting bigger and the rest stayed small.

Has anyone else had this kind of problem? What types of solutions did you come up with?

Should I just combine everything into very large lists, and just deal with it?

Thanks,
Ben

Registered