12 questions about how you run your goals

Ship69

Registered
Hi

I've realized that I've been terrible at running goals, particularly lately. I am still fairly new to GTD and the wheels have come of the goals part - BADLY!

I'd love to hear more about how other people are managing them and how successful they are finding their methods.

1. At any one moment in time:
- How many weekly goals do you have?
- How many monthly goals do you have?
- How many quarterly goals do you have?
- How many yearly goals do you have?

2. Do you distinguish between really important goals and less crucial goals?

3. How do you construct your goals:
a) Do they include a number of something
b) Do they include a specific date
c) Do you make sure they include different areas of your life (if so how many?)

4. How often to you look at each of them?

5. Where do you keep them ?
e.g. Written somewhere in a journal? Electronically in your to-do list manager software... as well?

6. How often do you review/ change them?

7. Do you distinguish between resolutions and goals?

8. Have you formally written down the reasons for each of them?
(e.g.
- Why the goal is important?
- What is at stake?
- And if so exactly how many reasons are you giving for each goal?

9. What actually happens when you fail to hit a goal?

10. Do you commit in writing to any kind of reward if you do hit a goal (and/or punishment if you miss the goal)

11. Do you keep a Next Action running for each goal?

12. Is a goal treated differently from a GTD Project.

I have found myself missing goals often quite badly, and then being hard on myself and working and then harder and harder. And sometimes loosing focus and discipline quite badly for a while. And then working harder again. And then giving up on goals completely. Which is hugely liberating... but only for a while. Because then I find myself being highly productive... but on something that is probably completely the wrong thing to be doing at all. Anyone else been there?