Achieve Planner and Do Organiser

altruologist

Registered
I have seen some mention of Achieve Planner in the Forum and it sounds good. I am interested in getting feedback on both Achieve Planner and Do Organiser and wheher they have helped or hindered GTD effectiveness. Thank you in advance.

moises

Registered
I have made some references to Achieve Planner which I have been using since January 2006.

I looked at what other outliners were available and Achieve Planner handily exceeded them all in terms of functionality.

I have been doing GTD for 3 years and it has made an enormous difference in my life. But my biggest weakness in my GTD implementation was managing projects. With my other systems there was too much overhead involved to start adding a project to a list just because I might have two NAs.

Achieve Planner is project-centric, so I make projects with ease for almost everything.

One wonderful feature of Achieve Planner is that it has a field for Contact Person. So I no longer keep @Agendas contexts. Instead I put the relevant persons' names in the Contacts field. If I want to know everything in my system that is related to Susan, I just filter the Contacts field for Susan.

One warning: GTD is an immensely powerful and complex tool. In fact, you can start using it almost immediately. But the complexity and richness can be a bit overwhelming for some who are just starting. Too start with, just create NAs and Projects. That's all you need. Once you've mastered that, there are lots of bells and whistles for integrating projects with higher altitude (40,000 feet, 50,000 feet, etc.) goals.

I was hoping that Microsoft was going to add an outliner function to Outlook's tasks. On this board I read that Microsoft was not going to do that. If you want an outliner, they reasoned, buy Microsoft Project.