Action List examples

J

jpark

My apologies if this has already been circulated in the forum...I'm new to GTD.

I am have difficulty with what seems like a basic question, but looking for examples from members regarding what their next actions look like.

I have developed my GTD system up to my Project Lists...but lacking a clear understanding of the more basic....most important part...the Action lists.

I understand that you group them based on activity clusters: home, work, phone, errands, etc. ....but what do they look like and how do they evolve through to project completion?

How do I know how to take my project [example: create budget] and then say ok...my next action is to...blank [example: at computer, brainstorm items], and then what?....how do I move to the next action both for that project and/or the next project?

I guess I would love to see examples of your next actions and how they both relate to your projects and how they evolve to the newer next actions. thanks...

cornell

Registered
> I understand that you group them based on activity clusters: home, work, phone, errands, etc.

Keep in mind clustering into contexts is optional. I worked with one person who had >200 actions, but liked them "flat" - one big list. If you have a page or two of actions, you might just have one list. In my case I don't have many, but I like splitting out "Errands," with the remainder (computer, home, etc.) under "Actions."

> but what do they look like and how do they evolve through to project completion?

They should be small, independent tasks - things that can be done in one sitting, and that don't turn you off. Usually you'll have a mixture of small "five minute-ers" and larger 1 or 1-1/2 hour ones. This is good - you can still make progress independent of time and energy available.

> How do I know how to take my project [example: create budget] and then say ok...my next action is to...blank [example: at computer, brainstorm items]