All set up...and I never glance at my lists

Brent

Registered
I rarely look at my Next Actions.

I've been using GTD to various degrees for many months now. I store all my Actions in my Treo 600, which is convenient for me. I use my tickler well enough, as I can remember to check it every day when I get home from work.

I do the weekly review about half the time, and my Next Actions lists are always acceptably up-to-date.

But I rarely look at my Next Actions. I rarely even think to look at them. I'm usually enjoying or doing other things that aren't on my NA lists.

Any suggestions? I'll happily provide further information if requested.

CoachMike

Registered
My suggestion is to start getting in the habit of reviewing your Next Action lists. How can you expect to get those things done if you are not reviewing them? I have an employee that I'm training to use the GTD system and he started claiming that GTD actually was causing him to get less done. Upon investigation I found that he was doing the same thing you are doing. Getting everything into your trusted system is only part of the job. The other part is to review those lists of tasks on a regular basis. I train my people to do daily reviews where they scan their Next Action lists daily, review their calendars daily and check their tickler's daily. They also know that the weekly review is the key to the entire system. When I first train someone on GTD I meet with them to do the weekly review. Once they have the habit going I let them do it on their own. So far I've trained 3 people in the GTD system and every single one of them is far more productive.

Busydave

Registered