Blocking out time to actually get the work done

timchurchman

Registered
Hi, I'm new here, loving the book and gaining immeasurable tips and knowledge..

I am a Freelance designer and often get interruptions which leads to many distractions and ..... NEVER Getting Things Done.
I receive constant phone calls and clients get irritated when i don't answer my phone.

Does anyone have any tips for this and do you block book time in your day with no distractions to get work done....?

Help please

mcogilvie

Registered

I am a Freelance designer and often get interruptions which leads to many distractions and ..... NEVER Getting Things Done.
I receive constant phone calls and clients get irritated when i don't answer my phone.

Does anyone have any tips for this and do you block book time in your day with no distractions to get work done....?

Help please
My daughter owns a hair salon, and one of the things she said about it really stuck with me: “you have to train your clients to the behavior you want.” For her, it is things like missing appointments altogether, last-minute rescheduling, et cetera. You need to decide what you want and need, and make that happen as policy. Maybe this is something like returning phone calls between 11-12 and 3-4, or responding to email more quickly than calls. There are resources which can help you with messaging so that your clients understand you are trying to provide your best work for them, and for all your clients.

TesTeq

Registered
Are they really irritated that you don't answer your phone? Do they have a fire in the bedroom or a heart attack? I don't think so. I think there's some communication or planning problem in these projects.

Longstreet

Professor of microbiology and infectious diseases

Help please
Private message me.

John Forrister

GTD Connect
Staff member
Welcome! It's great to hear that you're reading the book and getting value from this forum.