Calendar or Next Actions list?

A

Anonymous

Hi all, I'm new to GTD and hoping to get clarification on one thing from the book that's been bugging me.

GTD method says that time-specific and day-specific actions should go into the calendar (hard landscape) while all other actions go into the Next Actions list. My question is: where do you put actions that must be acted upon in a window of time that is greater than one day?

In the book, there's an example on p39 of the book - you tell someone you'll call her on Friday about a report you're sending her. She won't get the report until Thursday and she's flying off on Saturday, so Friday is the time window for taking the action. This clearly goes into the calendar rather than the next actions list.

What if she'll get the report on Tuesday, so you could call her on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday?

Where should this action be recorded so that you don't forget or miss it?

If it's to go on the calendar, which day should it go on? If I put it on Wednesday but don't act on it, then I'd have to re-record it on Thursday's schedule, and so on. The longer the time window, the more tedious this would be, plus the risk of forgetting to transfer it.

If it goes on the next actions list, isn't there the danger that it's 'buried' amongst the many other items (many of which may not have such a 'hard' deadline)?

A

Anonymous

I'm just a newbie to this, so others may have a more elegant solution!

I use Outlook Tasks for all of my actions and hard-coded items. In Calendar view, I've set the Taskpad preferences to show only those items with "start date = today". So any tasks that MUST be done on a particular day are flagged with that date in the Start Date field, and they automatically pop up in that section of the Calendar view on the appopriate day.