Carefull when renaming email subjects

Llan

Registered
I'm a newbie to GTD and I am still learning the different tools and tips of the system. However, one suggestion regarding renaming email subjects to reflect the next action generated a red flag for me.

As a records manager, I know it is not a good idea to change email messages if they are considered a record by your company. You could be altering the official record of the company and could be putting your company at legal risk.

--Llan

sidsavara

Registered
Interesting Llan

What I do is take the email and if I'm going to change the subject (for my own sake) I'll reply to myself and change the subject, or when I reply to everyone I change the subject

My most common use is I make a task out of the email, and then name the task

I didn't even know you could change email subjects on the server.

Brent

Registered
I appreciate the concern, but the server should be recording the emails as they were originally sent. If the individual recipients change their copies, that should be okay, as the server still records the original version.

If there's ever a legal question, investigators should go back to the original, sent version of each email. Heck, the email may have been corrupted in transmission, so it's unwise to rely on the received version.

jknecht

Registered
Agreed with Brent.

Telling users they can't change an email subject because it is a company record is tantamount to telling them they can't delete anything either.

All of this history is on the server and/or in backups (if your IT department has even the smallest clue of what they're doing). Investigators will (most likely) not be asking the individual users for their email anyway.

Oogiem

Registered
Brent;61840 said:
I appreciate the concern, but the server should be recording the emails as they were originally sent.