Clarify - Physical Document

aks

Registered
Hi,

I'm new to the GTD Methodology. I understand what to do with digital documents and where to put them, but what do I do with physical documents?

For example, I'm given a hard copy of a workbook to review. When I clarify, I know my next step is to read and make edits. If I'm organizing it digitally I'd put it in the @Office category, however, it's a physical document.

Do you have another bin for physical documents that you need to get to?

Thanks

Oogiem

Registered
For example, I'm given a hard copy of a workbook to review. When I clarify, I know my next step is to read and make edits. If I'm organizing it digitally I'd put it in the @Office category, however, it's a physical document.
I would put the action item "Review workbook" in my @office context list with a note ""workbook stored in paper action support folder" Or "workbook stored in paper folder for project X" If the item is part of a one off or project that have' have any other paper support material I put it in a single large Action Support folder. If the item is part of a larger project it goes in my folder for that project. If the item isn't even paper but is some other physical thing it will go wherever appropriate and my context lists will tell me where the thing is.

For example:
New pants ready to wear is the project The note says the pants are in the Shop on my sewing table.
Actions are
hem new pants
put in new waistband on new pants
Or another:
Project is Ram Harness cleaned and the action is remove the old marker crayons from ram breeding harness and the note is harness hanging on the horse tack tree in the garage.

Does that help?

aks

Registered
That does help, thank you. If you were home then you'd have a separate action support folder for the home, right?

Oogiem

Registered
That does help, thank you. If you were home then you'd have a separate action support folder for the home, right?