Delegate: tips and tricks to share

Pav

Registered
I'm a newcomer here. I'm a top manager of a mid-size company with lots of projects, people and goals under my control. I have to delegate. I trust my people 100% but want to track them at least weekly to make sure we are moving constantly in the right direction.

I think that a flat list (like a project list) would suit me as I need to see what project was delegated, when is the deadline (that could go into my calendar though), and whom that project was delegated to. I think there's no need to hold a project plan in that list or in my support materials trusting that project fulfillment to my team's member. Should that project belong to my project list or projects delegated list (a separate one)?

Let's share any tips and tricks on delegation: what, when, how?

Linada

Registered
Going by the book, you'd put delegated things on a 'waiting for' list, which gets reviewed weekly. With a lot of delegating a 'waiting for' project list sounds like a good idea. I'll have to remember that.

Dan Owen

Registered
Can you clarify for me the outcome that you want? And what is the outcome of the weekly interaction you want to have with your staff?

Pav

Registered
OK, here're details. I have 4 direct reports, each of them has more then 20 people reporting to them. So I have 80 all in all reporting indirectly to me.

People have a tendency to forget things that were delegated to them. To be on course I would like to have regular meetings with direct reports (let's say twice per month) to make sure no projects were dropped or stopped during that time frame for no reason. My outcome of the meeting is to control all the projects are still there (at least the projects that were delegated directly by me to my direct reports, in the best case all of the projects under them as well) on my team's plate and all of them running.