Digital Filing System

Y

yuryg

Hello Everyone,

I am a new convert (from Franklin-Covey) method. I am a consultant and I work at multiple client sites, and even when in the office the office uses Hoteling so I do not have cabinet space and so on.

What I would like to know if someone has worked out a digital system of storage vs. a file system (for most of the things at least). The problem I would have if I instituted a file system is that I would never have access to them accept at home. :sad:

So what I was thinking of doing is creating a system where I would have an encrypted disk (utilizing PGP software) where I could store all the documents that belong in the files. What I would do is scan them and convert them to digital format, and then file them accordingly.

So what do you think? Has anyone does this, any ideas?

P

ProfDD

USB flash drive ?

You can put a lot in a USB flash drive and connect it at any PC with a USB port. Some security-conscious sites may not permit this put many will. You can, of course bring a Palm, but the volume of data is much lower.

Y

yuryg

ProfDD said:
You can put a lot in a USB flash drive and connect it at any PC with a USB port. Some security-conscious sites may not permit this put many will. You can, of course bring a Palm, but the volume of data is much lower.

You misunderstand, I carry my laptop with me all the time, and my PocketPC PDA. I am fine with the information strategies, as to how to back it up, carry it with me, transfer it to PDA.

What I need is to figure out if anyone else is doing it and what challenges they have.

W

whsbpb

yuryg said:
So what do you think? Has anyone does this, any ideas?

So, is the bottom line that you're going to scan paper into computer files (PDFs or TIFs or something)?

If so, MADNESS MADNESS MADNESS!

I started doing that several years ago, using PaperPort. It's just too time consuming and takes up too much space. It *sounds* wonderful, but never worked for me.