Does GTD help with Depression or other mental disorders?

C

CLewis

GTD vs medication

This discussion reminded me of my reaction when I viewed a TV advertisement recently for a new sleep aid that would counteract the problem of a mind racing with commitments precluding falling asleep. I immediately thought that it would be interesting to run a GTD ad in tandem. One aid is a band-aid, the other may well be a more lasting tool for addressing the problem!

U

Unregistered

perhaps GTD could be part of a larger strategy

I've had some personal experience with depression, and I've had some luck keeping it at bay.

I don't think it's realistic to think that GTD is "the answer" to depression. But it seems very reasonable to me to think that it could help. From what I know about depression, I think that it would help.

You really need to attack depression with a full court press -- it's a complicated problem that requires a fairly complicated response. I try to exercise as much as possible, and I eat well. I make a point of socializing. And I try to stay on top of things that cause stress -- there's no doubt that stress can push you into the hole. Obviously, that's where GTD comes in.

My doctor told me that there are three broad categories of causes for depression. First of all, some people have brains that are more prone to depression than others -- there seems to be a physical or chemical difference between people. Second of all, things that happened when your personality was being formed can make you more or less prone to depression. But finally, things that are happening can cause depression -- if a spouse dies, or you get really sick, or you lose your job, you can become depressed.

I'm probably less robust in the face of trying circumstances than most people -- bad things that might not push someone else into a depression might get me. Presumably, that's because of factors that belong to one of the first two categories.