Fear of Work!?

remyc88

Registered
I can't believe this is a REAL phobia

Ergasiophobia - defined as "a persistent, abnormal, and irrational fear of work"

And if you do a google search on it, you'll find clinics that are trying to cure this!

:D I don't want to sound "insensitve" but when did procrastination turn into something so scary?

A

Anonymous

I have to say I have been battling this for over ten years. :( My efforts to combat it were responsible for me finding my way to David Allen’s book and this site. It has also led me to read Brian Tracy, Jim Rohn, Anthony Robbins, Covey, and anyone else I could get my hands on.

The symptom is that I must somehow get over a massive, and I mean massive, wall of fear, each and every morning, before I can start work. If I don’t get a grip on myself at the start of the day, I will spend the day skidding wildly from task to task and finish up utterly exhausted, and deeply depressed and fearful.

(But if I do manage to start the day off correctly, I can get a ton of work done – I have no problems with ability or stamina).

Then the battle begins all over again the next day. And the next. And the next.

I am constantly trying to figure out what causes it.

My best self-analysis is as follows: during the recession in the eighties and early nineties, I worked for several particularly vicious individuals. (Their own shortcomings have since been proven to all by the failure of their businesses). Their one and only management tool was to daily threaten the sack to their staff – me included. The slightest error in our work, (and not even errors, just differences in approach towards the same objective), was instantly cited as a reason for dismissal. With a new mortgage, this caused me endless agony.

Now, if association is as powerful a force as Anthony Robbins says it is, then I have been conditioned to believe that presenting completed work to a superior, and using initiative, are causes of deadly consequences.