Folders used for your GTD set up

Yaaqoub7

Registered
I am a newbie! I want to know what folders you use in the Organize step of GTD? Thank you for all your help!

ivanjay205

Registered
I am a newbie! I want to know what folders you use in the Organize step of GTD? Thank you for all your help!
What system are you using? In the beginning I had a very "robust" system with lots of folders for all of my areas of focus etc. What i found is that it created an situation where I could easily overcommit myself because I was hiding my entire workload from myself. It also was a lot to manage.

Now I just have:

Business
Business Active Projects
Business On Hold Projects
Business Maintenance (Routine) Projects
Personal
Personal Active Projects
Personal On Hold Projects
Personal Maintenance (Routine) Projects
Blended
Productivity Projects
Routines (this is where I put my startup routine, shutdown routine, weekly review, etc.)
Reference
Someday/Maybe

It is sooooo much simpler to manage for me.

gtdstudente

Registered
Yaaqoub7,

'Organize' is crucial

Organize on this end begins with Reference

Reference is based on five general Areas-of-Focus

Everything on this end flows to and from five general Areas-of-Focus that have stood up against time very well

Took quite some time to find life's all-encompassing five general Areas-of-Focus herein, which have stood up against time quite well

Last edited:

mksilk2

Registered
My work list is:
Task/Project Mgt:
@NA
@Calls
@To-Read
Projects - Active
Projects - Closed
Waiting For
Someday/Maybe
Agendas (split out for one list per person, I have 8)

Project support :
OneNote split by project matching my projects list
Email folders, roughly organised by projects plus other general folders

Reference: TheBrain - multiple topics/subtopics, not directly linked to any list, but used to store interesting and useful information.

Horizons of Focus: Mindmap

Last edited:

realmindmapper

Registered