GTD and household chores

frank F

Registered
Hi, despite what my name implies , I am actually a woman, with a child, house, garden, dog, hobbies, and a career.

I am pretty hooked up on using digital tools for GTD which is probably reflective of my overall situation where I am happy to spend a lot of time on work (incl. complex projects which require a good amount of thinking - I am a scientist) but I absolutely hate household tasks which for me are a total waste of time and I am basically too lazy to walk around and put things back to their place :) I am excluding garden work which I enjoy a lot.

So I am wondering if people can share some tricks of lowering the threshold for doing those chores through GTD methods. One thing I am doing , and it's helping a lot, is to have physical inboxes for things which are lying around, so that it looks tidy at least, and things can be put back into their places later. you see where I am going with this - the putting back can be delayed, or not happening at all, as not everything has a dedicated , logical place (I don't just want to stuff it in any drawer). I guess I could just assign a dedicated box for this and put it in a corner...

I think a lot here is related to habits, and this was discussed elsewhere in the forum, i.e. it does not make much sense to put each and every task in your GTD inbox. I have also read and watched the Marie Kondo method which is helping. And yes, we already have a cleaning lady, but of course there are still plenty of daily tasks...

Forgot to mention that I have watched the video of David Allen with the dutch lady, which has also helped a lot as it focused on physical situations in the house.

But I was wondering if people have some other tricks to share :) sorry if this has been discussed elsewhere - I did go back through the fora but might then have missed it.

Gardener

Registered
Assorted thoughts: