GTD for scientists/academics?

gjwilliams2

Registered
Dear all,

I'm currently a research scientist in academia experimenting with GTD, and while I can see the obvious benefits for certain aspects of my everyday working/private life, I am having trouble applying GTD to other aspects specific to my profession. I use a simple circa notebook to organize by Inbox, Calendar, Project lists etc.
For example, while the GTD philosophy seems to work great at kick-starting a new project (i.e. project planning and whats the very next thing I have to do), it doesn't seem to fit very well with actually doing experiments in the lab. Usually, there are many small things that have to be completed in the lab, either consecutively or in parallel, and often these have to be done at a particular time on a specific day. Its very difficult to write every NA down and cross reference all of this with our lab notebooks (we are usually very restricted with the kind of notebooks we can use for official lab books). Also, David Allen recommends only putting items we have to do in our calendars (such as a meeting), but a lab scientists usually has so many small tasks that have to be done at X and Y that all these next actions get thrown onto the calendar aswell.
To summarize, I love how GTD helps identify what little actions I can get done in between doing experiments, but doesn't seem to help with planning the every day (almost routine but not quite) stuff I have to do at the lab bench every day. I understand that I have to figure out what the very next action is for each project/sub project, and I have to correctly divide all my responsibilities correctly, but this doesn't seem to help with the experiment parts.
Does anyone else have the same issues or some advice?
Thanks in advance.

Todd V

Registered
re: GTD for Academics

I wrote a little bit about the unique challenges that face academics who are trying to implement GTD. You can find that here under the sub-heading "GTD & Academics Blog."