GTD vs. Autofocus ( Mark Forster )

gator

Registered
Hi,
I've been working with GTD for about 5 years now and stumbled across the Autofocus (AF) by Mark Forster.
Has anyone here experimented with it and if so any feedback?
I've tried it for a week now, but I think I may go back to GTD. The long lists spread across several pages and then all the rewriting seems to be too much work for me.
I think I am "stuck" on having contexts divided out in my Circa notebook, and it just seems to flow better for me.
Any feedback or comments is appreciated.
Have a great day!!

industryofcool

Registered
I've just started GTD a few months ago. I heard something about Mark Forsters method and read a short introduction. What amazes me is the idea to go and read/rewrite your complete tasklist over and over again. It makes me think of what i used to do in my outlook window ... clicking through all the emails and not deciding .... And that's not a good memory !

Why did you want to try something else than GTD ? Did you fall of the wagon too often ?

Frans

moises

Registered
gator;65239 said:
Hi,
I've been working with GTD for about 5 years now and stumbled across the Autofocus (AF) by Mark Forster.
I've tried it for a week now, but I think I may go back to GTD. The long lists spread across several pages and then all the rewriting seems to be too much work for me.
I think I am "stuck" on having contexts divided out in my Circa notebook, and it just seems to flow better for me.
Any feedback or comments is appreciated.
Have a great day!!
Hi gator,

Like you, I am a long-time user of GTD. I first heard about Mark Forster on this forum. I have been using Autofocus since the first week of January. My experience thus far is that Autofocus can be used quite effectively as an adjunct to GTD.

David Allen sometimes has characterized GTD as a bunch of "tricks." Well, Autofocus is a trick that gets me motivated to do things.