Handle tasks with unknown scope and end result?

Jakob

Registered
Hello fellow GTDers,

I've been using this great system for a while now. It has turned my life into a better one.

Unfortunately I am struggling at one point. GTD is great for implementing routines and for tasks whose scope and end result are known at the beginning.

How do I plan tasks whose end result and scope is uncertain? Let me explain it to you with an example. I am a student of computer science. When I learn for an exam (let's take math as an example) then I don't know at the beginning how much time it takes to work on a topic. In addition, I don't know whether I understand the topic right away or whether further elaborations are necessary. Scope and result are unknown.

So far I have proceeded in such a way that I have divided the entire subject into small modules. For example:

Project: Topic XYZ
- subtopic X
- Sub-topic tasks: 1a, 1b, 1c​

Then I was able to complete the tasks. However, I didn't feel I had complete control over the XYZ project.

Do you have similar experiences or suggestions for improvement?
I would be very happy to hear about that and you would help me a lot.

Thanks in advance and many greetings from Germany

Cpu_Modern

Registered
Scope and result are unknown.
Well, that's not entirely true for your example, isn't it? The result is pretty much known to you. The desired successful outcome, to use GTD parlance, is that you fully understand your topic. Or at least understand it enough to go into the exams with confidence.

Regarding the issue with time. Well, if you don't know how much time it will take, then any organising method, not only GTD, has to deal with it. You don't know how much time it takes, period. Doesn't have to do anything with how you organise your work.

You can work with estimates, that's what we do in the sciences…