Help w/migrating Hipster PDA to actual PDA

DoubleDippin

Registered
I'm relatively new to GTD and opted for the Hipster PDA route to start off with. My goal is to ultimately automate my system to a PDA once I've dialed in and made most of my major adjustments to my system. However, I really like the tactile nature of the Hipster and often have 5-10 cards spread out on my desk at any one time. I'm not sure I'll be able to emulate this on a small screen PDA.

Anyway, here is a quick overview of what I'm doing.

I use a small notepad and a very small cross gel pen for capturing. I don't go anywhere without these two items. When I do, I feel more "naked" then if I leave home without my wallet. I used to capture several things on one sheet, but now only capture one item per page. I then review the items when I have time to determine whether these are unassociated NAs, if they are, they go straight to my Tasks / Nas list with no associated Project number, or whether they are a smaller piece of a larger NA or project. In which case, I create a project sheet.

The project sheets receive a number from 1-99 when I hit 99, I recycle back to 1 again. This has worked so far. The Project sheet has the desired outcome at the bottom of the sheet with up to 9 supporting NAs listed to achieve the project. (Any project requiring more than 9 NAs should be broken down further into sub projects - it could be argued that 9 may be too many, however, it's working well for me at the present time). Once I complete the Project Sheet, I transfer it over to the Projects master list Index card. This lists all of my projects along with their assigned project number. This allows me to quickly scan all of my projects on one or two cards to jog the memory for new NAs instead of flipping through all the project sheets.

I then take the next NA for each project and list it on a separate Next Actions card