Help with next actions please

CoachMike

Registered
I read David's book back in January and have been implementing the GTD system ever since. I've had some success, but I'm still confused about Next Actions. I am using the GTD plugin for Outlook (just so you know). I am a computer programmer. I get alot of emails from users about system problems, etc. Suppose I get an email that says "Mike, the credit card processing doesn't work in the house account receive payments screen." Do I need to create an item in the category @Next Action and place it under a project called "Fix credit card processing" and label the next action "Review code for credit card processing in house account receive payments screen"? Is my category correct? Is my label correct? What if there are many other steps that come to mind at the time that I read this email such as "Write code to fix bug in credit card processing on house account receive payments screen", "test code changes to credit card processing on house account receive payments screen", "roll out build with changes to credit card processing on house account receive payments screen", etc.? Should I put these under the category "@Computer-Internet" and the project "Fix Credit Card processing"?

I guess what confuses me is that some people use a category "@Next Action" while others do not. I was thinking that my project could have a list of steps to complete them and I could (during my review time) move the next action to the Action Code "@Next Action" and that would enable me to use the built in task view by GTD action and I could see the next actions I have on my list. Is there a better way to process these items?

Any help would be appreciated!

A

Anonymous

I believe the Next Action is the *immediate* Next Action that needs to be taken to get the work going. Once the Next Action is started, the momentum of completing that one action will propel you to think of the next step and keep on going.