How Often to Update Next Action Lists?

A

Anonymous

I am a GTD newbie. From what I understand, most lists are updated at the weekly review. But I find that I most do reviews more often since I get assigned a lot of projects durign each day that require a host of next actions. How often do most people update their next action and project lists? Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you.

mondo

Registered
The process relies on following the workflow. I know that when I stick to it, then everything works well for me. When I don't, then things fall apart.

You should "capture" the next actions as soon as they reveal themselves to you. Make sure that your capture devices are hole-proof.

I have a couple - yellow legal pad, in tray, and voice recorder on my Palm. And of course voicemail and email.

When I get back from a meeting, the notes go into the in tray. They do NOT go straight into a folder about the particular project/subject. I clear my voice recorder onto a page from my legal pad at least once a day, then add that page to the intray. Same goes with voicemail.

Email of course is its own entity.

Then, usually once a day, at the end of the day, I clear the in tray, updating NA lists as I go, filing the notes once completed. I scan the notes, and make sure that all NA's are organised.

But, as DA says, if I can't get to it for a day or several, I can relax knowing that everything is in a trusted system.

Urgent or small NA's I sometimes "Capture-Process-Organise" as a single step straight into my Palm

The weekly review is a much bigger task, going through everything.

And I am at the stage where my weekly review is actually starting to happen regaularly - three weeks out of every four!

Good luck with your journey

J

Jason Womack

Processing and organizing...