Implementing GTD - Harder at to Implement Home than at Work?

A

Anonymous

Hi - I've been using the GTD system for about two years and it has been absolutely valuable for me. Like everyone, it has taken take to master - I love David's last newsletter with the belt levels.

I've found that I'm having a harder time implementing it at home than at work. At work, I'm mainly a greenbelt who glimpses into blackbelt land every now and then. At home, I'm much further down the scale. For example, this weekend I threw out a good $75 worth of expired coupons for services and products that I used during the period I had them. I didn't structure myself to remember that I had them in the right moment. Or maybe I need to decide to not use coupons at all.

Is that true with the rest of you out there? What are your challenges and how have you been overcoming them

I think the challenges at home are:
* lack of a good physical space - we have an office, but it is removed from the main living area, so I tend to resist using it - and it is very small
* more interruptions - especially with little children!
*a lack of deadlines

I'd love your thoughts.

Alicia

Ambar

Registered
I'm much weaker at keeping up with the weekly review at home than I am at work. Sometimes it feels as though the entire house is an inbox, so it can get overwhelming.

Things that really help:

a usable filing system. Mine's in need of a purge right now, but I love having solid drawers that don't wobble. (The aesthetics of the cherry wood also help me enjoy filing. :) ) Speaking of enjoying filing, I have a labeler at home and a labeler at work.

Really making the next action be the Next Action. I have a harder time, for some reason, making myself think through the home-oriented next actions so that they are not amorphous blobs of undoability. :)

A Flylady tip, not a GTD tip: use a timer to break up dauntingly long tasks into 15-minute blocks. I can do anything for 15 minutes -- even mop the kitchen floor.

M