Is it Hopeless?

12hourhalfday

Registered
I am an IT professional for a large company. About a year ago my company reclassified me as hourly. I get a lot more overtime now which is nice but I do not have the kind of free time I had before for GTD. I am so swamped right now with extra work and because of budget cannot have overtime approved. I need to restart, recollect, and reporcess everything in an uninterrupted setting, the problem is that nature of my job is fast and furious interruptions. When I needed to do this as a salaried employee I came in on the weekend but now that I am hourly I do no have tis option (and this office is really strict about unpaid overtime) GTD was the best thing that ever happened to me. Am I doomed now? :neutral:

wordsofwonder

Registered
12hourhalfday said:
I am so swamped right now with extra work and because of budget cannot have overtime approved. I need to restart, recollect, and reporcess everything in an uninterrupted setting, the problem is that nature of my job is fast and furious interruptions.

Why not try a strategy of collecting and processing new stuff as it comes in, so that at least some of your stuff is getting into the system? Then, in small chunks, you could start to review your old stuff and bring it into your system. Having been in an interrupt-driven environment before (I worked for three years as a system administrator, managing a cluster of about 90 servers and 700 workstations), I know how hard it can be to get uninterrupted time for big projects.

In that environment, I'd tend to think that getting some control over your stuff -- and increasing your level of control over time -- is still better than having no control. I think implementing GTD in the "take a day or two and process everything" mode is perhaps ideal, but a piecemeal implementation is better than no implementation, I think.

-- Tammy

jpm

Registered
handling interruptions