Mental dilemma- please help!

A

Anonymous

I’m new to David Allen’s concepts (I’ve read the book) and I’m struggling with the concept of not scheduling your next actions. Maybe I don’t understand the principal behind the practice (please correct me if I’m wrong).

From what I understand, the intention when you put something on a Next Action list is to avoid, at least for the moment, doing that thing (or committing the time in your schedule). Recording something on the list is the action of setting it aside for "as soon as possible", or later. Given that nothing ever happens “later”, when will it get done? Doesn’t everything you do happen in a finite period of time.

When I consider doing something, if the answer is "yes, I'm going to do it," why shouldn’t I schedule the time to do it? I might schedule it a week from now or even a month from now. But the time it would take to have it happen would be set aside and committed.

If you don't have the time to do something, no matter how much you want or need to get it done, it doesn't happen. How do Next Action lists require you to deal with the reality of how you use your time?

Maybe I’ve completely missed the boat on this one. :? Any ideas or suggestions?

J

jmarkey

That is probably one of the most difficult parts of adjusting to the GTD system. I think the general idea is that with most time management programs people are constantly reprioritizing and moving the things they had listed for a particular day to another day. In this system, you should be able to quickly scan your context lists and choose the next thing to do. You will never have to move it to another day because it's not listed for a particular day. It also eliminates that sense of failure or stress you might get from thinking that you had a particular task listed for a certain day and didn't get to it.