Mind Like Water? Really?

A

Anonymous

I'm probably doing something wrong, but I can honestly say that I dont feel that much clearer about what to do next with my list of 120 NA's and Projects than I did without it. I'm in sales and there are so many initiatives, deadlines, implementations, etc, etc.

Come on, do any of you out there really have a mind like water?

Mark in Texas

A

Anonymous

What do YOU want?

What do YOU want?

Words like initiatives, deadlines, implementations imply to me that someone else is pulling your strings.

Where's your personal vison Mark?

As a salesman myself I see my company as a resource pool that I use to get the results I want. But, to do this I must know what I want so i can choose what I do!

Good luck.

A

Anonymous

Vision?

I want to get all these initiatives, etc. etc., out of my face for one thing.

I get your point about doing what I want to do, but I have to do what my company wants me to do too. I am a resource pool for them. Its a two-way street.

Personal vision is an issue though.

Mark in Texas

S

spectecGTD

Into my 4th month of GTD I can say that I don't yet have a mind like water, but I have some sense of it.

The current problem is, I have such a load of open loops, incomplete tasks, and undefined projects lingering from the past that I know it's still going to take quite a while to get them all under control. While I'm working on that task I have to deal with new inputs and projects which regularly pop up. My situation isn't unique - many others on this BB and elsewhere fight these same battles, especially while trying to implement GTD.