new GTDer:suggestions for paper notebook?

dmapp

Registered
Hello,

I'm brand new to GTD and would like to learn the system without getting all wrapped up in the various software options.

Essentially, i would like to use a spiral notebook for capturing all my contexts (calls, @ office, @ home, errands, read/review, waiting for, etc.) as well as my projects and someday/maybe lists.

Note: the appointments and other dated items would be captured in outlook.

the problem is that i am unsure of how to put all this into the note book. i have thought of 2 options.

option 1: should i start with the most used context at the beginning of the book and assigning each context its own page. each context would then be spaced out by leaving 20 or so pages between each? i would add tabs for all of these so they could be easily accessed (the tabs could be more permanent).

option 2: should i start with any context, giving each its own page, and have no spaces between each. when the page fills up, i go to the next available page. again, i would assign tabs to each context so that they could be easily accessed. the problem here is that i would be constantly replacing tabs (sticky post-it tabs)...

with both options, i figure the projects ans someday/maybe lists would be towards the end like David Allen mentions in his 1st book.

both options have merits, but i thought that before i re-invent the wheel, someone else may have "been here and done that" and may have input to share...

thanks to all who might have thoughts on this.

SGTM

Registered
I used a spiral notebook for quite some time along with outlook for a calendar and contacts. I wrote the system up and named it the Simple Guide to Time Management. It is not purely GTD, but very close and what I needed at the time. You can read it for free on my blog.

Good Luck

JohnV474

Registered
Notebook suggestions

I use a notebook as well. My setup is different than yours, though maybe something I say will help.