Outlook - Creating a task with subtasks underneath

J

jonlien

Does anyone know of an Outlook 3rd party add-on that allows me to create a task hierarchy similar to an outline format? I am a big fan of Ecco and have used it in the past for creating task hierarchy, but I really want to standardized on Outlook now.

Thanks.

Z

zigzag

While not exactly an Outlook 3rd party app, I have been very happy using Natara's Bonsai . It allows you to create heirarchical lists of items that can be tasks or not. You can also link those tasks into Outlook automatically.

The only partial downside is that this program must be used with a Palm. So if you're not a Palm user, you're kinda out of luck. I'm surprised that they don't have a straight desktop only version. It has great Palm and Desktop software. Very usable.

I've been using it for about 2 months now with my Treo 650 and I'm loving it. I really needed a way to manage large project task lists without cluttering up my categories.

Veritas

Registered
I am not using a 3rd party software but have modified Outlook to achieve an outline view by creating user defined fields called Project, Areas of Responsibility, and Domain. I customized the task view to group task by Domain, Areas of Responsibility, and Projects.

NA tasks are associated to the user defined fields either by a custom outlook task form upon cration, filling in the fields for each task, or after you have populated some you can just mouse click and drag the tasks to associate them to any existing Domain, AOR, Project in the customized task view.

Here is an example of the customized task view. Clicking on Domain drills down all the way to the NA task.

+Domain: Work
+Areas of Responsibility: Budget
-Areas of Responsibility: Reporting
-Project: [Third Quarter Forecast] 3 items
[Third Quarter Forecast]create SepYTD actuals report
[Third Quarter Forecast]create Oct-Dec run rate report
[Third Quarter Forecast]ask team for any known Oct-Dec purchases
+Domain: Home