Outlook, The GTD Add-In and project planning - how do you use them?

Howard

Registered
I've been GTDing for about 6 months and I still regard myself as a novice. An area in which I need to strengthen my GTD habits is that of projects: recognising them, breaking them down into steps then doing the actions at the right time and place, and in the right order. I have found the GTD Add-In for Outlook to be helpful (it's not perfect - but makes Outlook much better for the purpose) but I have not yet settled on a definate way to use it for projects. Somehow, the process does not flow easily.

What I tend to do is this:
1. Identify the project and define it in the past tense.
2. Create a next action.
3. List future next actions (that I can think of now) in the Project Notes section of the Add-In's project window.
4. When I complete the next action (try and remember to) refer back to the notes section to pick up the next, next action - or think of another one if this is more appropriate.

I have MindManager too but have not really got around to using this on a routine basis.

There seems to have been a great deal written in the forum about next actions for projects but, even after reading a lot of this, the whole process still feels rather unfamiliar and non-instinctive - even using the tools I've mentioned.

Does anyone have any successful step-by-step routines for implementing projects that they can share?

smithdoug

Registered
The GTD Add-In, Outlook 2007, MindManager & OneNote

Howard;49336 said:
Does anyone have any successful step-by-step routines for implementing projects that they can share?