Palm to Blackberry transition...Help!

2toxic

Registered
Hi folks. I'm a few months into GTD. I'm still learning and and clearly seeing value in it. I've had an "Outlook dependency" for several years, and have appreciated the ability to sync Outlook with my Palm Treo. I've only had my Treo about a year but love the fact that I went from two "bricks" to one (Palm and phone previously). I'm about to make a job change and just learned the new employer will not support my Palm on the corporate server. Instead, it will issue me a Blackberry.

I've never used a BB, but have been told by some colleagues that BBs are dominant in email capability but have weak applications otherwise. I've applied DA's tips on using GTD w/Palm/Outlook and been very satisfied with the outcome. My biggest concern is whether I can sync the BB with Outlook and apply the same GTD principles that I do now with my Palm. Specifically, I use the heck out of the task feature in Outlook and like having it available in the handheld. Do Outlook tasks sync with a BB? Can contexts for tasks be used on the BB?

I'll be on the road a fair amount in my new job. I'll be given a laptop and cellphone or BB/cellphone combo. Can anyone offer advice on how best to make this transition? If possible, I'd like to keep it to one handheld device and not rely on paper any more than necessary for calendar, contact, and task management.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

BJ

F

faskham

I've just done exactly what you're talking about.

I had a Treo for about a year, and used Agendus. I found it worked excellently with GTD.

My employer has just issued me with a BB (the Pearl). I've had it for about a week. When it comes to email, contacts, calendar... I couldn't wish for a better device.

The big problem I'm having is with tasks. Unfortunately that's a massive part of GTD.