Paper system - organizing the Next Actions sub-sections

Botany_Bill

Registered
I'm new to GTD and I am setting up a paper notebook (my preference). I really prefer side-bound spiral notebooks. They fold flat, allow writing on both sides of the page, and I can tear out pages when I've completed a page.

I've read a bit (including David Allen Co docs) about setting up the notebook but I can't find anythign about how people are setting up the Next Actions "section." I know David recommends subdividing NA list by context and those contexts are up to me (I think I'll have some for where I am (errands, emails, phone) and some for projects (I like digging in on a single project before moving on). But I don't know how to start dividing my notebook space (pages per context) and I realize I've taken away some adaptability by using spiral-bound books.

There's lots of info on the interweb about # of pages for all other sections, but not for within the Next Actions section. I'm starting to wonder if I should have separate small notebooks for each. Would love any thoughts on this.

Thanks in advance!

mcogilvie

Registered
David Allen has often spoken of using a single sheet of paper for each next action as a good “test rig” when starting GTD, and some people stay with it. I have often used a small moleskine notebook as a mini GTD system at conferences (@conference, @hotel, agendas), and that works ok for me, even if I prefer digital. I don’t think you will know what works best for you until you try, and spiral notebooks are not so flexible. Once you know what works, maybe spiral is fine. Separate notebooks are probably not good.

FWIW, Levenger has a somewhat pricey product line called Circa which combines the lie-flat feature of spiral notebooks with the easy rearrangement of 3-ring binders. Office Depot markets a cheaper, compatible line called Tūl (tool, get it?).

RS356

Registered