Paralyzing perfectionism

John

Registered
Hi,

Im new to these forums and in a way I suppose I am new to GTD. I read the book in 2009 and ever since I have attempted to implement GTD, so I am familiar with the principles and concept, albeit in a superficial way perhaps.

I am trying to develop a better me, as the one currently typing is not where he wants to be in life, but that is a different matter. I am not sure if you can help, but I assume a lot of you (most, if not all?) are far more advanced and experienced when it comes to this issue and have probably faced it yourself.

I am truly stuck taking action and after learning about GTD, goalsetting and so on, I am overwhelmed and take far less action than I previously did. I "suffer" from a severe case of perfectionism and so every little action, thought or idea needs to be filed, organized in an optimal system where I just press play and every little part gets connected and interconnected to every other part, goal and project.

So basically I just spend my days either staying as far away from planning and "organizing" as I can, or I fiddle around with Onenote, Outlook, Mindmeister and read a bunch online about how others have set up their system. Hell, right now there are five bags (small) of garbage in my doorway that have been there for two days because I am not sure how to track and record the fact that I just went and threw it out :)

Outlook works well for me as it syncs with my phone so I have all my tasks there. Stuff at the "runway" like pay this bill, go pick up X, talk to Y etc works fine, but when it comes to doing a mindsweep, processing and organizing projects, it just stops and I feel completely lost.