Please Help Me Choose and Transition To a Digital List Manager

daveda

Registered
Dear GTDers,

I have been GTDing for about 8 months. I started by reading David Allen's first book and then supplemented my knowledge with podcasts.

I initially implemented GTD using a three-ring binder and binder-paper. This system has been working well for me; however, it is becoming inconvenient to carry around a relatively large binder, and I find that, as some of my lists get long (such as Someday/Maybe), it is getting tedious to easily see all of the entries. Moreover, I need a system that can allow me to easily input back-of-the-envelope project plans as a "note." Lastly, I think I have certain GTD habits in place (such as actually doing a weekly review on a weekly basis) that gives me the backbone needed to deal with some of the frustrations associated with electronic list-managers.

As far as list-managers go, I have mostly been experimenting with Toodledo and with the just-released list-manager Nirvana.

Are there any solid GTD setup guides for Toodledo? Do any of you find the limitations on the free accounts (such as the one week "expiration" date for completed actions) to be a serious hindrance? How does one manage projects under Toodledo? I plan on using "Folders" for my projects, and then sticking context-specific NAs into them. Is their mobile, browser-based client good enough? Are there any other free list-managers that are GTD friendly (I am a college student on a really tight budget.)?

What about Nirvana? I have taken a look at it, and I am impressed by its uncluttered interface and streamlined performance. Should one have any concerns about using a beta product as a list-manager—especially if that list-manager may end up behind a pay-wall of some sorts (I guess one could always print his or her lists out to “save” them).

Is there anything else that I should keep in mind?

Thank you very much for all your help,
Dave D.

:)

mickmel

Registered
Dave,