Project next actions timelines/deadlines

Juice182

Registered
Hello everyone!

I’m new to the GTD method and I’m reading and listening to the book and have a question about calendar usage.

If I have a long term project like writing a thesis that is due 3 months from now, and I’ve identified the next action and have that next action on my next action list, what keeps me on timeline for the project? If the only things that go on calendars are things that have a hard deadline, then the only calendar item for writing the thesis would be when the whole thing is due correct? If that’s the case, how do I keep myself from waiting to work on it until the last minute? Wouldn’t it be better to block off portions of my calendar on a weekly basis to make sure that some work is being done on a regular basis?

Thank you in advance!

Gardener

Registered
I would probably:

- Divide the project into the number of threads I'm comfortable with and that I can reasonably work simultaneously--for example, maybe one for research and following up with requested research materials, one for reading and notetaking, one for writing, etc.
- Make a project plan with approximate dates, taking those threads into account.
- Have a weekly task, "See if project X is on track" to make sure I don't lose track of how it's going.
- Treat each thread as a project, and keep it fed with a task or two at all times.

I would only use the calendar for hard landscape things, like maybe entering an appointment for time-specific access to some resource.

mcogilvie

Registered