Project's Next actions

TheDarkMist

Registered
Hi to all.
I'm a newbie. Today was my first implementation day. I started putting tasks in my lists. I decided to use Remember the milk site to mantain my lists.

PROBLEM: Project's next actions
I'm a web designer, so I juggle about 10-15 project at the same time. Each of them has dozens of tasks I want to list when they appear in my mind. Should I use a separate list for every project? In that way I'm scared about managing 10-15 (and probably more in future) project lists at the same time.
Is that the correct way?
Thanks

MarinaMartin

Registered
You will want to keep tasks specific to each project on a separate list for each project.

However, you also want to keep *every* task you can do right now, from all projects, on a single Next Actions list. This is how mine might look:

Read pages 25-40 (Book Club)
Email invoice to Cindy (Cindy's Project)
Update Twitter profile (Personal Branding)

(I put the project name in parentheses after the action so I tie everything together.)

You'll also want to keep sub-lists for Next Actions that can only be completed in a particular context (@Home, @Phone). Remember the Milk should do this automatically, I thought.

Then, once a week, go through each project list and make sure you've identified all possible Next Actions.

sdann

Registered
For many projects, particularly for those that require certain steps, I like to identify as many actions as possible. One by one these become next actions. I like to keep my actions - both next actions and inactive actions - with my projects in my GTD system. I don't use RTM, but I see that you can tag next actions - those tasks you will do next within a project - as "na" (see Senol's link). All those you don't tag as "na" are then inactive actions or future next actions. RTM seems to let you list all under a project.