Simplify your System or Throwing away my PDA

A

Anonymous

I though I’d share this…

I have been using a Palm for 3 years. I synch with Outlook at Work.

I have always thought it to be valuable to be able to carry my calendar, addressbook, Project, NAs, Lists etc around with me.

Since “The Day I forgot my Palm” I have had a gnawing doubt about just useful this device is.

After some brainstorming, I have concluded that in fact it is nothing to do with the tool. The real question is “Do I really need to carry around all this information with me everywhere I go?”.

And my conclusion is “No”.

At work I spend 80% of my time at my desk. The remaining 20% is at meetings which are nearly all on-site. So I literally walk to and from the meeting room.

My Weekly Review is at my desk.

I always carry a notebook for collecting anyway and then do updates at my desk.

My @desk context list can stay at my desk. Pointless carrying my @desk NAs around with me.
My Waiting Fors can stay aty desk. I need e-mail or a phone to follow them up anyway.
My @home context list can stay at home.
My @Agenda lists can be taken to the appropriate meeting with me.
My @Errands need to be with me when I’m out and about. A simple post-it inside my wallet will suffice.
I don’t have a mobile phone so I don’t need a @calls list with me at all times.
My Projects/Areas of Focus etc are only needed at Weekly Review time so they can stay at the desk.
My Calendar – well I can print out a monthly view from Outlook and carry it at the front of my NoteBook.

Get the gist? I don’t need a Palm. I don’t even need a Planner of any kind. I do need capture tools (paper and pen) and to prepare for meetings and trips but heck, I did that anyway.

I certainly don’t need to carry around reference material/Project Support.

Occasionally I do have action support to be moved between Home and Work so I’ll keep my Transit file.

...and so it goes on...only a small part of my system really needs to be mobile...