The next step

A

Anonymous

I've been using GTD for about six months now and the improvement has been tremendous. Less stress, more organization and the feeling that things are moving along...I think GTD is serving its primary function with me and I am satisfied.

So, my question is really about the next step. My status quo is working and now I want to move my life along further. I think this requires a top down approach to work in conjunction with GTD. What do you guys think? Can anyone recommend any books that provide a more aerial view but that are consistent with GTD?

I tried Anthony Robbins system some time ago-- called RPM-- and despite the rave reviews other people have given it, it really stressed me out. Too much focus on the big picture, constant tension between what I was doing and what I should be doing. Thus, I am looking for something more low-key that can focus me on the big picture while staying grounded in the present. Make sense?

Suggestions appreciated!

A

Anonymous

The Big Picture

David's treatment in GTD of looking at your life from the 10,000-foot, 20,000-foot, up to 50,000-foot levels is really pretty decent. Steven Covey's discussion on creating a personal mission statement could be valuable. Anything Tony Robbins did related to values might also be good.

There's nothing particularly magical about any of these materials. Basically you are just answering a series of questions about where you want your life to go. Questions like "What do I want on my epitaph?" or "What is really important to me?" prompt you to clarify your mission and values. Questions like "Where do I want to be (ten / five / three) years from now?" prompt you to clarify major outcomes that will take long-term effort to achieve and prompt you to make choices about the overall order in which you want to work toward them.