The soul crushing weariness of trying to use GTD in an environment that is design to be inefficient

apastuszak

Registered
Forgive this rant, but I need to vent to someone. I feel like my company is designed to make things as difficult as possible to get things done. Here is the story of my week.

I work in IT. Names have been changed to protect the innocent in this story.

I was given a server name and port in order to have my server connect to a Oracle database server. We set up the needed config file and had someone deploy it on the server. We were unable to verify that the change actually worked, because we were waiting on firewall rules to get applied.

2 days after the change we learn that we had the wrong port number. Easy enough fix. Log into server, edit file and change the number 1525 to 1535 and save. Two minute rule. Should be done now and I can move on with my day.

But NO... I'm not allowed to do that. I need to open a trouble ticket. I open a trouble ticket and have it assigned to a support team. They log in the server and tell me they don't have rights to edit the file and it needs to go to another team. I contact team 2. They tell me that I need to open a change ticket for them to do work. So, I open a change ticket. But you can't just open a change ticket. A change ticket required 5 days notice and you need to represent it on a call with the "Change Commitee." Team 2 also tells me they need a detailed implementation plan. I tell them that we are literally changing a 2 to a 3 and saving a file. They send me a 30 PAGE template to fill out and send back to them. It takes them 3 days to review it and they tell me they need the name of my project manager and a project code. I tell them we don't have a project. And they want me to spin up a project in order to edit one stinking file.