Tickler file

Tombo

Registered
With the advent of paperless are more people ditching the tickler file system? I’m a teacher so I can see using it for school where we still have a lot of paper but at home I think digital is much easier. Would a calendar app suffice or would a task manager handle that?

Oogiem

Registered
Tickler file doesn't have to be just paper. I'm in the middle of impementing a digital tickler file in my reference tools. I use DEVONThink and what I am doing is creating the standard 42 folder system within a folder called tickler. I can then move project folders or individual notes or even specific e-mails into that easily. I've played with implementing a tickler like option in my task manager, Omnifocus, and I do use defer dates to tickle some things into the future but it's not good for the more general electronic tickler type stuff. I still have a paper tickler file too as there is still a lot of paper that I get that goes into it.

DenaDahilig

Registered
I certainly use my paper version less frequently but I can't imagine getting rid of it entirely. I still need a place for some event tickets I pre-purchase, or cards I send through the mail or that note I don't even want to look at for another 6 months! Yeah... kinda still love my tickler.

John Ismyname

Registered
Paper is not going to go away! While incoming paper can be scanned, often easier to put a document in a the physical tickler file. Often, I will have a physical objetct in my tickler file that can't be scanned.

grohrbach

Registered
I shuffle project support folders foward in my paper tickler so it is there waiting for me on the morning I am scheduled to work on it next. Also, the benefits of mailing something to your future self, days or weeks into the future, is valuable. I also like to drop random things in: a quote, a good article, ad for a local restaurant that I am tempted to visit for lunch but am not committed, etc. My paper tickler is not going away anytime soon.