Too many hard edges!

A

Apop

Hi,

I've been using GTD for about 2 years now, and use the Outlook plugin (which is great apart from regular conflicts with other Outlook plugins, but hey nothing's perfect ;)

I am finding that I have so many hard edges (NA's that I must do today, shown as all day events in my Outlook calendar) that I don't seem to have time to do my non day specific 'real' NA's. Then, when I come up against my NA's deadline, the NA becomes a 'must do today' action, which means I have even less time to do my NA's. Help!!!! I feel like I'm on the edge of a large cliff, about to fall off if I don't do something soon. :eek:

I do also struggle to get to do my weekly review regularly, which must be contributing to the this problem but is there anything else I'm missing? Constant interuptions from colleagues doesn't help (especially more junior ones), but it's part of my job to mentor and teach them and I want to help them out. I work in an open plan office and have deliberately put my desk in the middle so I'm visible and accessible so I can't close the door and keep them out...hmmm, perhpas that's part of the problem too...I also have a young son at home and a wonderful wife who I want to spend time with so the idea of spending weekends doing weekly reviews is a difficult one for me.

All ideas/thoughts/insights/inspiration greatfully received

Thanks
Apop

(ps It's a holiday weekend here in the UK so I might not reply immediately but I'm about to create myself an NA to read your posts in a few days, so you will get a response (assuming I don't have too many 'must do's' next week!)

kewms

Registered
GTD doesn't make any of your actions go away, it just gives you a better overview of what you have. And in this case it sounds like you simply have too much. In particular, it sounds like you plan as if you had more time than you actually do.