Tracking projects in Evernote -- solved problem to share

KW7

Registered
I'm still very early in my GTD-ing and trying to figure out how to handle projects has been a struggle but, thanks to folks on this forum (Thanks Kelly!), I finally understand.

One issue I had that I think I've solved is how to track the component next actions for an existing project. [For Evernote users] -- Specifically, how do I know if I actually have a next action for a given project in my system?

My solution: I have a MasterNote in my PROJECTS list, I create a link to that note and paste it at the top of the same MasterNote. Then whenever I create a new next action for that project I can copy and paste the link to the MasterNote quickly. That easily gets me back to the MasterNote when I'm looking at a next action note in various context lists so I can see support info in the MasterNote. To track the various next actions floating around, I create a tag which goes on the MasterNote and each next action. For me, I chose "-P1", "-P2", "-P3", etc. as a naming convention and plan to recycle those tags as the earlier ones are no longer needed. Then, in Evernote, I can click on the tag, -P1 for example, and quickly see the MasterNote that lives in PROJECTS and all of the next actions that already exist. So far, so good.

Hopefully this is helpful to someone out there.

TesTeq

Registered
I'm still very early in my GTD-ing and trying to figure out how to handle projects has been a struggle but, thanks to folks on this forum (Thanks Kelly!), I finally understand.

One issue I had that I think I've solved is how to track the component next actions for an existing project. [For Evernote users] -- Specifically, how do I know if I actually have a next action for a given project in my system?