Tungsten E sync question

rangi500

Registered
Hi guys,

I just got a Palm Tungsten E and am keen to start using it for my GTD lists, which currently live as plain text files on my laptop.

During the day I'll mostly be editing my GTD lists on my laptop, which I use for work. When I go home at night or go out for lunch, I'd like to be using my Palm for managing my lists.

So the laptop and the Palm need to be kept in sync. What is the best way to do this? Is it with the bundled application "Docs To Go"?

Any advise from those using a similar setup would be much appreciated.

Rangi

A

Anonymous

I'd also be interested in responses to this also, and whether rangi500 could post up thoughts and views on *why* he purchased the Tungsten E?

I'm just getting into GTD, and am sizing up my first palmtop. I use an Apple Powerbook, and am used to the pleasure of syncing to T610 phone via bluetooth. I'm wondering whether I could 'live with' the Tungsten E and put up with plugging it in to sync (like I do with my iPod I guess), or whether I'd be happier shelling out extra for a one of the bluetooth capable models that I can sync with ease?

If I decide to go for a plain hard-wired palm - purely for gtd implementation, then is there really any need to get a Tungsten E, or will one of the more basic models offer sufficient functionality?

The extra £100 or so for a (rapidy dating) bluetooth equipped T3 seems like a bit of a stretch? Is it due replacement in the immediate future?

As always, thoughts and opinions appreciated.

TesTeq

Registered
You must enable Bluetooth each time you want to sync the device. Isn't it easier just to connect the cable or put the PDA in the craddle?
There are two main drawbacks of having Bluetooth enabled permanently:
-- shortened battery life;
-- security - it is possible to read the contents of the device with Bluetooth enabled.
TesTeq

rangi500

Registered