Using the Book - some newbie questions

T

Turner

Hi everyone -

Ok first: I'm 54 pages in to the first read of the book.

Background: I work as a marketing director for a company; I also am an independent designer, and do this work at night. My daily job includes handling a LOT of very varied details.

I literally have 102 open projects at the moment - just at work.

I also have a life ;)

At work, I have been using a few things to keep track of projects, but not nearly as efficiently as I'd like.

I've been using a customized database in Filemaker, but because of its nature, each entry is really a "solo event" - I can keep project notes, but cannot "nest" lists inside other lists, outline-style. It works well, though, and I can create drop-down lists in any column and create very sortable data.

I've also been using an outliner, but it's cumbersome and doesn't allow sorting.

I've also been using stickies (I'm on a mac and a PC but prefer to use my Mac when I can) but stickies are really NOT a good way to manage so many details.

Anyway, I'm wondering, as a first-time-through reader of GTD, and being 54 pages in, whether I should read through the book and then go back, or if I can begin "organizing" based on what I've seen so far.

I realize this is a pretty esoteric thing; one of the reasons I'd like to start is so I can at least -feel- like I'm making progress ;) but really it's because I don't know if everything I'm seeing in the beginning (e.g. flowchart logic) will be reinstated later, or if I'll have to go back anyway.

Also, the difference in my projects can be vast - from a simple phone call lasting less than a minute, to heavy hand-editing of documents which will last for weeks... but has a very high priority. I'd like to think that GTD or some basic variation will work out pretty well.