Very long lists

A

Anonymous

I’ve been using GTD for over 18 months.

However, because I have captured and organized EVERYTHING, my lists are now very long. I have nearly 700 projects (many of which require only 2 or 3 action steps, but they could need more than one, so they are projects) and over 1600 next actions. Some of my projects are low priority, but I still want to do them, and each has a next action that could be done whenever I’m in the appropriate context, so they are active projects. I also have about 130 checklists, and hundreds of Someday Maybes.

My problem is that to do a thorough weekly review takes several hours. Because of the time needed for the weekly review, I’ve now lost my motivation to do it, with the predictable consequence of feeling that I’ve lost control.

Has anyone else been in this situation, and if so, how did you cope with it?

TesTeq

Registered
:arrow: I suspect that some of your projects are daily/weekly/monthly/yearly routines - so create separate lists for daily, weekly, monthly and yearly routines.

:arrow: I also suspect that some of these projects can be moved to Someday/Maybe category.

:arrow: Or maybe you need to delegate some projects.

I do not thing that I could manage 700 active projects :? .

TesTeq

Re: Very long lists

Brenda said:
Been there, too. Started to do a weekly feasibility check of what I realistically can do during the next week. Context has to be considered, but time and priority have to be considered, too. I consider only those projects that I really can make some progress on during this and next week to be active projects. A project can be active this week, inactive next week, and active again in a fortnight.

About 60 - 70 % of my time gets scheduled with the projects I think are active and routines I have to do. The rest are time reserves for interruptions, work that takes longer than I estimated, new unexpected work, and breaks (considering my energy).

Rainer

Busydave

Registered