What about those C items?

michaela

Registered
Hi
I'm new to GTD but really want to try to use it to get control of my life and work at least to some extent. I've listened to the podcasts, the seminars, bought the books but here is my question. I understand GTD tells you not to use the A B C priority labels and I agree with the concept. However, ultimately all those projects and next actions still have to be evaluated for what is the best choice with the time. context etc. I have at the moment correct? Then how can I make sure that I ever GET to - buy catfood or do filing? If I'm making the best choice each time I may NEVER get to the filing etc. My biggest problem is remembering to do the low priority tasks.

Any suggestions?

mcogilvie

Registered
michaela;61071 said:
Hi
I understand GTD tells you not to use the A B C priority labels and I agree with the concept. However, ultimately all those projects and next actions still have to be evaluated for what is the best choice with the time. context etc. I have at the moment correct? Then how can I make sure that I ever GET to - buy catfood or do filing? If I'm making the best choice each time I may NEVER get to the filing etc. My biggest problem is remembering to do the low priority tasks.

Any suggestions?

If you really put the big and small next actions on your context lists, the small ones will get done. Everyone has their own rhythm of work, but most of us have small windows of time, or the need for a quick task as a break between bigger tasks. However, if you are not really addressing your larger projects with concrete next actions, there is the danger you will spend unproductive hours "working" on big projects while neglecting smaller things. It's guilt, overwhelm, and inattention to our own natural balance that does this. We learn to make better choices by making more choices faster, not by fretting over what the best choice is. I've been there, done that, lost many days over whether to get the t-shirt.