What's the project / resource on these?

A

Anonymous

I'm new to GTD. I've got a pre-GTD "To Do" item that I'm trying to convert to the Project/Action model that I just can't figure out. Any advice would be appreciated.

ToDo = Clean House. This is a recurring chore that I don't see as part of a project. It is not really a one-off item, because as soon as I complete it, it needs to incubate for about 2 weeks and then it shows up again. Is it an Action with no project, or is it something else?

TIA

A

Anonymous

Another One

In a similar vein -- what about a ToDo of "Exercise 3 times this week."

It doesn't go on the calendar, because it doesn't happen on a specific day. I'll take any 3 days (except 3 in a row -- I'll accept 2 in a row somewhere).

It isn't an errand because it isn't something I'll do "while I'm out."

I go to the YMCA, so it isn't @Home or @Office.

What resource/category does it go under?

A

Anonymous

I'd suggest you try to move away from thinking about "to do" items as the GTD system really doesn't use them. What it uses are Focus Areas, Projects and Next Actions.

Your plan to "exercise three times per week" isn't a Next Action. Instead, it is probably a reoccuring project or a general focus area. In any case you would put three exercise appointments onto your calendar each week when you do your weekly review.

It's a focus area if you have a general self-improvement goal in mind. It's a reoccuring project if you have a specific and measurable goal (for example, to exercise three times each week in preparation for a martial arts tournament or other specific event).

Hope this helps.
Scot

A

andmor

ToDo Priority