Where do you keep your projects list (and others)?

overflowing

Registered
I am new to GTD and working on implementing it in my life. I got a two drawer file cabinet, manilla folders, and a dymo labeler. I'm going sans hanging folders and I've been able to organize much of my paper into this general reference cabinet so far which feels good. But now I am a little stuck as to where to keep my projects list.

I want to go paper or possibly, possibly plain text computer files. So if you do paper, where do you physically store your projects list?

Do I put it in my general reference cabinet, filed alphabetically under "Projects"? Do I put it at the very front of the cabinet to emphasize it's special importance? Do I have it sitting on my desk? In a binder on my desk? In a portable format that I take with me?

Same question for the Someday/Maybe list.

dschaffner

Registered
I keep both my projects list and my someday/maybe list electronically on both my laptop and palm, so they are accessible any time I have access to either device.

Since you need both for your weekly review, I'd suggest that you keep both on them in a place where you can easily access them as often as you need to: probably weekly for the someday/maybe list, and maybe more often for the projects list.

- Don

roakleyca

Registered
Keep your lists with you...

For me, that means a BlackBerry provided by my work. If I didn't have that, I would probably use a paper day planner.

Good luck,
Ryan

overflowing

Registered
Thanks for your replies. The impression I got from the book is that you work from your next action lists and reference your projects list only during your review time, which would make me think that you wouldn't keep your projects list with you. But I see in the case of PDAs how having the lists with you makes total sense because it's just as easy to have it with you as to not since it's digital.

kewms

Registered