Working from home = no contexts?

Zac

Registered
Hi, all!

I've been working from home for about ten years and started using GTD about two years ago. I feel like I really don't have a need to use contexts since I'm always at home. @phone, @computer, @home, @work are all the same place. (I used to have @store to keep a shopping list, but my partner and I use a shared iPhone app now.)

I am a software consultant and have many clients and many projects, so I've been using contexts to categorize my clients. When I was using Toodledo, it was handy to just click on the client's name and see all the stuff related to that client. I recently switched to a paper-based system and write the client's name in the corner of each card, which has been working well.

I really like the idea of contexts, but they just don't seem to apply to me. Is anyone else in the same boat? (I guess I just assume I'm doing something wrong if I'm the only one doing something that way.) :)

cfoley

Registered
For me, contexts are about the energy needed to switch between certain kinds of tasks. Changing location is an obvious one but so is going from the computer to the phone or the hoover or my DIY toolbox. Each one of these requires a certain amount of physical and mental setup so it makes sense to crank through similar items as time, context and energy allows.

Even within @Computer, which is a reasonable context for most people, I find there is too much variation. I'm a freelance computer programmer and it took me a long time to realise that the mental overhead involved with switching between programming projects is just too much to take trivially. Now, each client's project is a context and I'll work within that context for as long as is appropriate.